British Fashion Award nominees announced

  • Marie Claire is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy.
  • Stella McCartney, Agyness Deyn and Luella all shortlisted for British Fashion Awards

    TODAY, THE BRITISH FASHION COUNCIL has announced the nominees for the 2007 British Fashion Awards, sponsored by Swarovski.

    Celebrating the best of British fashion, leading designers such as Giles Deacon and Luella Bartley have received recognition, as has younger talent Christopher Kane and Gareth Pugh. Leading the nominations are Stella McCartney and Anya Hindmarsh, the only two designers to be featured in more than one category.

    Chief Executive of the BFC, Hilary Riva commented, ‘The Awards give recognition to some of the most influential people at the apex of a vast commercial industry and highlight the wealth of talent that originates from our country and our colleges.’

    For the first year, a new award has been added to the line up, in memory of Isabella Blow. The Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator will recognise the work of make-up artists, photographers, stylists or producers, and their influence over the industry.

    The awards will take place on Tuesday 27 November, in Westminster’s Lawrence Hall.

    The Nominations are as follows:

    DESIGNER OF THE YEAR: Anya Hindmarch , Luella Bartley, Stella McCartney

    NEW DESIGNER: Christopher Kane, Gareth Pugh, Marios Schwab

    BEST NEW RETAIL CONCEPT: Shop at Bluebird, Dover Street Market, Marc Jacobs

    MODEL: Agyness Deyn, Lily Cole, Irina

    ISABELLA BLOW AWARD FOR FASHION CREATOR: Mert and Marcus, Michael Howells, Terry Jones

    RED CARPET DESIGNER: Giles Deacon, Marchesa, Stella McCartney

    MENSWEAR DESIGNER: Christopher Bailey for Burberry, Alexander McQueen, Cassette Playa

    ACCESSORY DESIGNER: Anya Hindmarch, Rupert Sanderson, Tom Binns

    Reading now