Oscars 2008: The winners

Discover who won what at this year's Academy Awards

It was a night for the Brits at the Academy Awards with big wins for both Daniel Day-Lewis and Tilda Swinton. Day-Lewis picked up the gong for Best Actor for his part as a ruthless oil prospector in There Will Be Blood, whilst Tilda Swinton took home a Best Supporting Actress award for her role as a tough-talking corporate lawyer in Michael Clayton.

It was the Coen Brothers, however, who swept the board taking the biggest awards of the night for their neo-western film No Country For Old Men. The directors walked away with Best Motion Picture and Best Director.

The big surprise win of the night was French actress Marion Cotillard, who beat heavyweights Cate Blanchett and Julie Christie to the award for Best Actress, for her portrayal of legendary singer Edith Piaf in La Vie En Rose.

See below for a full list of all the Oscar winners.

Best Motion Picture of the Year



Michael Clayton

WINNER: No Country for Old Men

There Will Be Blood

Best Actor

George Clooney, Michael Clayton

WINNER: Daniel Day-Lewis, There Will Be Blood

Johnny Depp, Sweeney Todd The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

Tommy Lee Jones, In the Valley of Elah

Viggo Mortensen, Eastern Promises

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett, Elizabeth: The Golden Age

Julie Christie, Away from Her

WINNER: Marion Cotillard, La Vie en Rose

Laura Linney, The Savages

Ellen Page, Juno

Best Supporting Actor

Casey Affleck, The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford

WINNER: Javier Bardem, No Country for Old Men

Philip Seymour Hoffman, Charlie Wilson’s War

Hal Holbrook, Into the Wild

Tom Wilkinson, Michael Clayton

Best Supporting Actress

Cate Blanchett, I’m Not There

Ruby Dee, American Gangster

Saoirse Ronan, Atonement

Amy Ryan, Gone Baby Gone

WINNER: Tilda Swinton, Michael Clayton

Best Director

Julian Schnabel, The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

Jason Reitman, Juno

Tony Gilroy, Michael Clayton

WINNER: Joel Coen and Ethan Coen, No Country for Old Men

Paul Thomas Anderson, There Will Be Blood

Best Original screenplay

WINNER: Diablo Cody, Juno

Nancy Oliver, Lars and the Real Girl

Tony Gilroy, Michael Clayton

Brad Bird, Ratatouille

Tamara Jenkins, The Savages

Best Original Song

WINNER: “Falling Slowly” from Once

“Happy Working Song” from Enchanted

“Raise It Up” from August Rush

“So Close” from Enchanted

“That’s How You Know” from Enchanted

Best Animated Film of the Year


WINNER: Ratatouille

Surf’s Up


Reading now