CFDA Fashion Awards Nominees And Honorees Announced

  • Marie Claire is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy.
  • Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen are among the designers who are nominated for awards this year

    The CFDA Fashion Awards nominees for 2014 were announced by CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg this week.

    Each year, the Council of Fashion Designers of America honours the best of the best in the industry. Basically, it’s like the Oscars of the fashion world.

    So who’s set to be this year’s Cate Blanchett?

    The Row designers Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen – who won Womenswear Designer of the Year in 2012 – are nominated once again, this time for Accessories Designer of the Year.

    Battling it in the Womenswear category this year are Marc Jacobs, Joseph Altuzarra of Altuzarra and Alexander Wang.

    Nominated for Menswear Designer of the Year are: Maxwell Osborne and Dao-Yi Chow for Public School, Marcus Wainwright and David Neville for Rag & Bone and Thom Browne.

    The nominees will surely be holding their breath for their category’s reveal – but a few designers can rest easy leading up to the event. This year’s honorary awards will go to Tom Ford, Raf Simons, Bethann Hardison and Ruth Finley.

    The winners will be revealed at the awards ceremony on 2 June.

    Got a tablet? You can now download Marie Claire magazine straight to your iPad for the new price of £2.99, Kindle (just search the store for ‘marie claire magazine’), Nook or Google Nexus.  

    Reading now