Who Has Stolen Rihanna’s Style Icon Status?

The 2015 CFDA Award nominations are in...

Pharrell Williams has stolen Rihanna’s crown and been named 2015’s Fashion Icon by the CFDA (Council of Fashion Designers of America).

The award, which will be presented on 1 June, acknowledges Pharrell’s collaborative projects with brands like Uniqlo, Chanel and Adidas, as well as the definite boost he’s given to the millinery market with his collection of statement super-hats. See how the two style icons compare in the gallery above.

It’s only the second time ever that a man has taken the award (Johnny Depp won in 2012), with Rihanna winning in 2014 and Lady Gaga, Sarah Jessica Parker and Nicole Kidman also previously owning the prize.  

Perhaps the most important question of all – what will Pharrell wear to accept his award? Rih Rih went all Emperor’s New Clothes on us when she scooped the prize last year, wearing a barely there dress by Adam Selman.

Pharrell’s personal style is definitely distinct and we suspect he’ll take a go big or go home approach to headgear on the night.

There are 11 awards in total to be presented at the ceremony, with Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, Marc Jacobs and Michael Kors all up for top prizes. The full list of 2015 CFDA Award nominees is as follows…

Womenswear Designer of the Year nominees:
Joseph Altuzarra, Altuzarra
Marc Jacobs
Michael Kors
Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez, Proenza Schouler
Mary-Kate Olsen & Ashley Olsen, The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year nominees:
Thom Browne
Tim Coppens
Tom Ford
Dao-Yi Chow & Maxwell Osborne, Public School
Marcus Wainwright & David Neville, Rag & Bone

Accessories Designer of the Year nominees:
Alexander Wang
Tabitha Simmons
Mary-Kate Olsen & Ashley Olsen, The Row
Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez, Proenza Schouler
Irene Neuwirth

Swarovski Award for Womenswear nominees:
Rosie Assoulin
Dao-Yi Chow & Maxwell Osborne, Public School
Ryan Roche

Swarovski Award for Menswear nominees:
Shayne Oliver, Hood by Air
Alex, Matthew and Samantha Orley, Orley
Shimon Ovadia & Ariel Ovadia, Ovadia & Sons

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design nominees:
Paul Andrew
Eva Zuckerman, Eva Fehren
Rachel Mansur & Floriana Gavriel, Mansur Gavriel

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award:
Betsey Johnson

International Award:
Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli of Valentino

The Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert:
Mickey Drexler

The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard:

Reading now