The most stylish looks at Marie Claire’s Future Shapers Awards 2019

  • Marie Claire is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy.
  • Ten brilliant women were celebrated in style on Thursday night at Marie Claire’s Future Shapers Awards, in partnership with Neutrogena.

    Marie Claire’s annual event, which honours women doing brilliant, agenda-pushing work in a range of fields (tech, politics, fashion, activism) took place this year at One Marylebone, inspiring everyone in attendance.

    From firefighting champions and media powerhouses to groundbreaking scriptwriters and humanitarian heroes, our winners were recognised by Marie Claire magazine’s Editor in Chief Trish Halpin and Managing Director Justine Southall, who introduced Marie Claire‘s new Digital Editor in Chief Andrea Thompson to honour the ten finalists.

    Joining team Marie Claire on the judging panel this year to select our ten extraordinary winners was journalist and presenter Tina Daheley, founder of Mother Pukka and Marie Claire columnist Anna Whitehouse and marketing director at Johnson & Johnson, Nicky Sunshine.

    But the inspiration wasn’t limited to the stage – all of our attendees are shaping the future, not only looking incredible on the red carpet, but also sharing career advice and inspiration with each other at the inspirational event.

    ‘Lift others as you climb,’ expressed Future Shapers Award winner Dr Jess Wade. ‘I love celebrating the achievements of others, both online and offline. If you see someone doing something outstanding, nominate them for an award, or tell them they’re fantastic.’

    ‘When something doesn’t feel right, speak up. In the past, I’ve found myself going along with things that make me feel uncomfortable so that I don’t cause offence.’ Future Shapers Award winner Dr Sabrina Cohen-Hatton announced to the audience, adding: ‘Being brave doesn’t mean not being afraid. It means doing something despite being afraid.’

    Alongside our ten Future Shapers Awards winners, guests like TV presenters AJ Odudu and Vick Hope, DJs Laura Whitemore and Harriet Rose, model and transgender activist Munroe Bergdorf, fashion designer Kyle De’Volle, girl group Four of Diamond, as well as Sex Education’s Ncuti Gatwa and Tanye Reynolds strutted down the red carpet in fabulous outfits.

    Here are some of our favourite looks.

    Reading now