It might be best to stick to coins from now on.
When we first found out that there was a rare five pound note being flogged for thousands (seriously) of pounds online, we thought the new five pound note was the best thing to come out of 2016 yet. Even the fact that some shops refused to accept the new five pound notes didn’t phase us, and we continued to eagerly check the serial numbers on every note that came into our possession.
Then we found out that there were also a series of five rare 50p coins in circulation that were selling for thousands of pounds and we thought life couldn’t get much better. As if that wasn’t enough, we were also treated to a sneak peak of the new pound coin (the pound coin as we know it won’t be round for long, literally) and reminded that as of next year Jane Austen ten pound notes will be in distribution.
It’s safe to say our currency is completely changing at the moment, but the latest revelation about the new five pound note now how us questioning just how great they actually are.
Yes, it has recently emerged that the new five pound notes are not suitable for vegetarians. Or anyone who doesn’t want to handle animal fat, really.
The Bank of England made the revelation earlier this week when one Twitter user asked: ‘Is it true the new £5 notes contain tallow?’ to which they replied: ‘There is a trace of tallow in the polymer pellets used in the base substrate of the polymer £5 notes.’
So yes, in short.
Tallow is a substance made from animal fat that can also be found in household items such as soap and candles. News of its use in the production of the new bank notes has already led to an online petition demanding it is no longer used.
The motion reads: ‘This is unacceptable to millions of vegans & vegetarians in the UK. We demand that you cease to use animal products in the production of currency that we have to use.’
In fact, vegan restaurant VegBar in Brixton won’t be accepting payment using the new £5 note, announcing on social media, ‘As you guys may have heard the new five pound note contains animal fat! Making them non-vegan!’