Easy Escapes: Stockholm

Tessa Solomons enjoys a winter shopping break to the Swedish capital

Tessa Solomons enjoys a winter shopping break to the Swedish capital

Why go? For cool fashion, world class Nordic food, inspiring design and romance in the snow. And it’s just a two-and-a-half-hour flight away…

When? Winter in Stockholm is chillingly beautiful with icy white skies, frozen lakes and elegant buildings crowned with snow

SoFo so good: vintage clogs on sale in the trendy shops south of Folkungagatan

You really must: Check out the impressive world of Swedish fashion. Start with the stylish stores in and around Bibliotekstan, which boasts the flagship outlet of leading light Filippa K (filippa-k.com) with its sleek silhouettes and streamlined layering. Also call into Hope (hope-sthlm.com) and Whyred (whyred.com) and don’t miss Acne (acnestudios.com) for jeans as skinny as you like. Across the water in SoFo, the trendy area south of Folkungagatan, you’ll find bargain vintage stores for dresses, boots and furniture (you have to rummage, but that’s the fun). Stop here for a coffee break (locals call it fika) or brunch at trendy grocer’s Urban Deli (urbandeli.org). For a spot of culture the coolest place right now is Fotografiska (fotografiska.eu), one of the largest photographic galleries in the world where pop culture iconoclast David Chapelle has a bling of a retrospective (until 3 March 2013). A Stockholm Card (visitstockholm.com/en/stockholmcard), from £41, includes admission to over 80 museums and exhibitions and lets you whizz around the city by bus, boat, Metro and fabulous old tram.

Stay at: The five-star Nobis Hotel (nobishotel.se, from £185) has 201 generously-sized rooms styled with the coolest of design touches − they even have a catalogue listing all its carefully-picked pieces at reception. The hotel lounge features an airy, 28 metre-high atrium while the shiny Gold Bar hums with cocktail activity after sunset − which is about 3pm in midwinter. Downstairs in the Caina restaurant handsome Swedes serve fine Italian food − try the homemade raviolini alla Piemontese. Nobis is in the downtown area on Norrmalmstorg, aside a pretty square in the heart of the city’s shopping and entertainment district.

Sleep in style in the designer suites at Nobis Hotel

Dine at: Miss Voon (missvoon.se) serves Nordic salmon and turbot with a hip, Asian slant − you can even get reindeer sashimi. Herring hunters and fish fanciers should seek out Lisa Elmqvist (lisaelmqvist.se), who runs a restaurant and shop in Östermalms Saluhall, a sensational food hall full of fine foods and heavenly aromas. Also book lunch or dinner (they melt into one) at buzzing brasserie Sturehof (sturehof.com) where you can tuck into a foamy pink sea of lobster soup capped with an island of chunky scallops.

Bring back: Swedish modernist silver jewellery − there’s a stunning collection spanning the 1950s-1970s at Nordlings Antik in SoFo (nordlingsantik.se/smycken). Fashion-wise, names to watch include The Local Firm, No Nationality, Tiger and Fifth Avenue Shoe Repair, all on show at clued-up department store Nordiska Kompaniet (nk.se). Svensk Tenn (svensktenn.se) is Stockholm’s answer to Liberty but with a stricter, cleaner aesthetic; it specialises in Swedish fabric, lights, tableware and furniture.

Find food for thought at Östermalms Saluhall

Book Now: British Airways (0844 493 0787; ba.com/stockholm) flies from London Heathrow to Stockholm Arlanda from £142 return, or snap up a three nights-for-two package staying at Nobis Hotel from £379 per person including flights and breakfast (a saving of £180 per couple). This offer is based on two people sharing for travel during February and March 2013. The quickest way into the city centre is by train in 20 minutes (arlandaexpress.com, from £30 return).

Info: Log on to visitstockholm.com and follow @visitswedenUK. Wallpaper* City Guide Stockholm 2013 (£5.95; Phaidon) lists all the hot spots to visit.

LATEST MARIE CLAIRE TRAVEL

Reading now

Popular