Facebook Now Lets You Delete Your Ex (Without Actually Deleting Them)

Facebook is introducing some clever new options to your news feed...

You’re scrolling through your newsfeed when out of nowhere, you see a photo of your ex laughing, smiling and generally living their best life. Without you. It doesn’t feel great – all you wanted was for them to be a little bit miserable for a while after your breakup. If you were going to see photos, you’d probably prefer them to have bad hair or a rubbish new beard. At the very least, you’d probably prefer to not know what they’ve been up to at all.

We’ve all been there – you could delete or block them, but then they’d know that you actually care and there is nothing worse than that, is there?

Thankfully, Facebook is introducing some new options for when you change your relationship status from ‘in a relationship’ to ‘single’. It will ask you if you want to see less of your ex’s activity or hide it completely and more importantly, it will also give you the option to be hidden from your ex’s news feed without them knowing. So they won’t know what you’ve been doing either.

Their name won’t be suggested when you start writing a new message or when you tag friends in photos and Facebook will even let you go back and delete or edit past posts from happier times together.

Facebook will be rolling this out in the US first and will then start introducing it elsewhere based on people’s feedback. Which we can imagine could be pretty positive for anyone going through a tough breakup.

Their announcement says, ‘This work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives. We hope these tools will help people end relationships on Facebook with greater ease, comfort and sense of control.’

Reading now

Popular